Qualifications Equivalent to GCSE Grade A* – C for the purposes of Prior Attainment

Qualifications equivalent to GCSE grade A* to C in maths and English for the purposes of prior attainment

The following qualifications in maths, English language and literature are treated as equivalent to GCSE A* to C. Students who have studied in England or other UK nations (Wales, Scotland or N Ireland) holding the following qualifications by age 16 will not be required to study maths and/or English to meet the condition of funding. The qualifications are:

  • Ofqual approved GCSEs grade A* to C offered and funded in England
  • Level 1/Level 2 certificates, commonly known as regulated IGCSEs grade A* to C
  • unregulated IGCSEs grade A* to C
  • GCSEs grade A* to C obtained in Wales
  • GCSEs grade A* to C obtained in Northern Ireland
  • Scottish Intermediate 2 certificates grade A to C
  • Scottish Standard Grades (credit Level) grade 1 to 2
  • Scottish National 5 certificates grade A to C
  • International O levels grade A* to C
  • A and AS levels at any pass grade
  • full International Baccalaureate (IB) Level 3 Diploma (LARS reference 50034157)
  • core maths qualifications at Level 3
  • International Certificate of Christian Education (ICCE) General Certificates (with a score of 80% or above) and ICCE Advanced certificates (any score)


Posted in SIMS.net.