Core Learning Aims –

The table below indicates those qualification types that are academic. If the student’s core aim in the is not one of the listed types, the student’s programme is vocational and the core aim must be identified for the school census.

Academic Programmes
Level Qualification types
3  GCEs: AS, A2, A with AS levels; double awards count as two academic qualifications (General Studies and Critical Thinking are excluded).

IB Diploma.

IB Certificates.  Cambridge Pre-U Diploma.

Access to HE Diploma.

2   GCSEs – including vocational.

GCSE short courses.

Free standing maths qualifications (FSMQs).


Posted in