| |

How to securely clean a Hard Drive using Data Wipe disk

USE THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK – DATA WILL NOT BE RECOVERABLE AFTER FOLLOWING THIS FAQ.

 

If you need to securely remove all data from a computers hard drive before reusing or disposing you can use the DataWipe CD-ROM.

 

Download the zipped ISO DataWipe for burning to disk

Or

The latest version can be found here at DBAN website 

 

Using the Data Wipe CD-ROM

This is a bootable CD, place it in the disk drive of the machine you would like to clean then turn it on and choose to boot from CD/DVD drive (methods of choosing a boot location vary between machine makes).

Once the CD has booted you will be presented with the following screen:

Fig1

Where it displays boot:, type autonuke and press enter.

Fig2The data wipe process will then start, it should not be interrupted as this will result in partially deleted data.

An estimated time remaining will appear in the top right of the screen. Once the data wipe has finished you will be prompted to remove the CD and turn off the machine.

The computer will now be ready to be reused or disposed of.

 

Reviewed on 12/01/2026

How useful was this article?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Similar Posts

  • Essential Windows Keyboard Shortcuts

    Windows includes a wide range of keyboard shortcuts that help you work faster and navigate the system more efficiently. The shortcuts in this post cover the most commonly used features across modern versions of Windows.

  • How to boot a Mac (OSX) into Recovery mode

    If you need to do any diagnostics or your Mac will not boot up properly you can use recovery mode to investigate the issue. With the Mac shutdown hold down the Command Button and R on the keyboard then press the power button. Release the keys once the Apple logo appears. Recovery mode should then…

  • Clear print queue/print queue stuck

    Occasionally a print job may be stuck in the print queue that you cannot clear. You may need to restart the Printer Spooler Service on the curriculum server (or which computer is hosting the printer) and to delete the offending file. The following should be done by whomever is responsible for Curriculum network: NOTE This will delete all print…

  • Firewall and proxy settings for Google Drive

    Before users on your network will be able to access Google Drive and Google Docs editors, your firewall rules should connect to the following hosts and ports. Otherwise, users may be blocked or denied access from these services. For the following hosts, [N] means any single decimal digit and * means any string not containing a…